Taking the Worms for a Walk

joe3-worm2

Illustration by Joseph Bergin III

So, yesterday I was taking a hand full of worms from my bin to my new compost pile ( you know the one for my tomatoes I’ve been talking so much about). I live right next to a park, and I heard the sound of playing children as I was heading to the compost. So I took a detour to show the kids the worms. There were three little girls at the park, and they were very interested in my handful of worms and partially composted vegi matter. I talked to them about worms for about five minutes, and left them with a few worms to play with. It really made me smile to see these little girls so interested in the worms. They were specifically amazed by the fact that the worms ate paper.

When I was telling M about this exchange we did a search for kids books about worms. Of course we found a few, check out my On The Shelf page for my favorite.

Categories: Compost, meanderings | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

